Brett Miller, KMRS/KKOK Sports Director

Red 13, Blue 3 (6 inn)
MORRIS – The Red team opened with a five-run first, and closed the game out with a six-run rally in the sixth to defeat Blue 13-3 and win the Babe Ruth League championship on Monday from Chizek Field.

Zach Bruns went 3-3 with three RBI’s and two runs, hitting a two-run home run in the first and falling a triple shy of the cycle while Brett Hansen tossed 3.1 innings of hitless relief for the win.

After Blue failed to score with the bases-loaded in the first inning, Red roared out to a 5-0 lead in the bottom half. Blue started chipping away though, scoring three runs over the next two innings to get within two, but Red added a pair of unearned runs in the third and Hansen shutdown the Blue lineup over their final three at-bats.

Blue would’ve had one more chance, trailing 7-3, and one out away from batting in the seventh, but a throwing error kept the inning alive for Red, who went on to draw two walks and string together six hits, scoring six and ending the game due to the 10-run-rule.

Noah Amundson was 3-3 with two RBI’s and two runs, Tim Blume drove in two and scored twice while pitching 2.2 innings for a no-decision.

Tristan Raths took the loss for Blue, allowing five runs (three earned) on six hits with a strikeout over two innings, Hunter Blume went the final four frames, allowing eight unearned runs. Jacob Boots had an RBI.

Red was coached by Brad Fehr, Dave Hansen, and Cade Fehr, Blue was coached by Mark Hockel and Brian Giese.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here