In Municipal elections yesterday: Dallas Pillen  won a close contest for mayor of Chokio with 52 percent to Roger Gerdes’ 47 percent. Lucas deNeui and Kirby Johnson were elected to the Chokio City Council. Leonard Zimmel was unopposed in his victory for mayor of Wheaton. Doug Wohlenhaus and Ed Rikimoto won seats on the Wheaton City Council. In Elbow Lake, Julie Larson and Darryl Larson won seats to the City Council. In Herman, Thomas Blume and Tony Vipond won seats on the Council.

In Alberta, Roger Gausman was elected mayor, with Ben Johnson and Catherine Rach winning seats on the Council. In Starbuck, Gary Swenson was elected mayor, with Christopher Taffe and Ted Razink winning seats on the Council. In Glenwood, Sherri Olson Kazda defeated incumbent Scott Formo to win the mayor’s race with 68 percent of the vote. Neil Haynes and Donna Martin won seats to the Glenwood City Council. Voters in Glenwood approved a ballot question authorizing the city to impose a sales and use tax of one half of one percent to finance a variety of improvement to city parks and trails, as well as the City Hall/Police Station.

In Hancock, Bruce Malo won for mayor, with Jeff Kisgen and Jeff Flaten elected to the Council. In Clinton, Greg Basta defeated Amanda Tatro in the mayor’s race, with Bruce Benson and Richard Stattelman winning Council seats. In Graceville, Duane Steen won a close mayor’s race defeating Dean Jensen with 53 percent of the vote. Keith Adelman defeated Michele Backer for a Council seat. Scott Bauer won for City Clerk. And voters in Graceville overwhelmingly approved a ballot question allowing retail liquor sales on Sundays.

In Barrett, Todd Lang was elected mayor, with Michelle Jenson and Jodi Moss winning Council seats. Jason Clow also won in an unopposed Council race. In Donnelly, Dale Ennen will be the mayor, and Lana Arnold will serve on the Council. And in Morris, Sheldon Giese was re-elected mayor, with Brian Solvie and Jeff Miller re-elected to the City Council.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here