Brett Miller, KMRS/KKOK Sports Director

The Minnesota Basketball Coaches Association announced their section and state academic champions, and Head Coach Cory Bedel’s Hancock Owls are the section 6A champions, while Phil Johnsrud’s Minnewaska Lakers are the 3AA champs.

Both the Owls and Lakers were also named the state champions for class A and 2A.

For Hancock, the Owls team GPA was 3.8 and this marks the third straight year they have won the section academic title.

State Academic Champions

Class A: Hancock Cory Bedel
Class 2A: Minnewaska Area Phil Johnsrud
Class 3A: Bemidji Travis Peterson
Class 4A: Hastings Chad Feikema

Section Academic Champions

Section 1A: Goodhue Matt Halverson
Section 2A: Mankato Loyola Eric Larson
Section 3A: Lac qui Parle Barry Besonen
Section 4A: Legacy Christian Academy Nathan Bellefeuille
Section 5A: Braham Jeff Eklund
Section 6A: Hancock Cory Bedel
Section 7A: Northland Chris Carlson
Section 8A: Win-E-Mac Vern Johnson

Section 1AA: Plainview-Elgin-Millville Jason Herber
Section 2AA: Saint Peter Sean Keating
Section 3AA: Minnewaska Area Phil Johnsrud
Section 4AA: Saint Agnes Christopher Hopkins
Section 5AA: Holy Family Catholic Matt Thuli
Section 6AA: Albany Cory Schlagel
Section 7AA: Aitkin Kerry Hopperstad
Section 8AA: Staples-Motley Nick Doll

Section 1AAA: Kasson-Mantorville Nick Pocius
Section 2AAA: Marshall Travis Carroll
Section 3AAA: Academy of Holy Angels Andy Hannan
Section 4AAA: Fridley Jim MacDonald
Section 5AAA: Dassel-Cokato Dave Chvojicek
Section 6AAA: Waconia Patrick Hayes
Section 7AAA: Hermantown Andy Fenske
Section 8AAA: Bemidji Travis Peterson

Section 1AAAA: Lakeville South Joe Janquart
Section 2AAAA: Chanhassen Nathan Pelowski
Section 3AAAA: Hastings Chad Feikema
Section 4AAAA: Woodbury Kent Getzlaff
Section 5AAAA: Spring Lake Park Grant Guzy
Section 6AAAA: Wayzata Bryan Schnettler
Section 7AAAA: Andover Matt Aune
Section 8AAAA: Saint Cloud Tech Mike Trewick


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here