ST. PAUL, Minn. – With the conclusion of the 2019 Upper Midwest Athletic Conference (UMAC) Outdoor Track & Field Championships, four members of the UMN Morris women’s track & field program were honored with postseason awards Wednesday.

Jessica Devine led the women’s track & field team to a 46-point margin of victory to be named the Coach of the Year by her peers. Under her leadership, Emily Ciesynski was selected the Women’s Track Athlete of the Meet and Jessica Bliese was honored as the Women’s Field Athlete of the Meet. First-year Jenica Moes was also tabbed the Women’s Rookie of the Year.

The UMN Morris women’s track & field program received the UMAC Team Sportsmanship Award, while Jeffrey McEarchern and Katherine Novak represented Minnesota Morris on the UMAC Individual Sportsmanship Award lists.

Along with postseason honors, eight Cougar men and 10 Cougar women were tabbed with UMAC All-Conference plaudits – which is given to an individual who places first or second in an individual event and all members of a winning relay team.

UMAC Postseason Honors:

Women’s Track Athlete of the Meet Award – Emily Ciesynski, Sr., Minnesota Morris
Women’s Field Athlete of the Meet Award – Jessica Bliese, So., Minnesota Morris
Women’s Rookie of the Year Award – Jenica Moes, Fy., Minnesota Morris
Women’s Coach of the Year Award – Jessica Devine, Minnesota Morris

UMAC Sportsmanship Awards:

Team Award – Minnesota Morris (Women)
Individual Award: Jeffrey McEarchern & Katherine Novak

Minnesota Morris Men’s All-Conference Honorees

Ryan Anderson So. Bellevue, Idaho/Wood River
Edmund Cease Jr. Grand Rapids, Minn./Grand Rapids
Jeffrey McEarchern So. Rochester, Minn./Century
Trent Merkins Jr. Cottonwood, Minn./Lakeview
Justin Pearson So. Elk River, Minn./Elk River
Tyler Sassenberg Sr. Winthrop, Minn./Gibbon-Fairfax Winthrop
Andrew Stanek So. Plymouth, Minn./Wayzata
Christian Thielke So. Morris, Minn./Morris

Minnesota Morris Women’s All-Conference Honorees

Jessica Bliese So. Osakis, Minn./Osakis
Emily Ciesynski Sr. Blaine, Minn./Blaine
Brooke Hogan Jr. Cannon Falls, Minn./Cannon Falls
Kaitlyn Ladwig So. Granite Falls, Minn./Yellow Medicine East
Jenica Moes Fy. Watertown, S.D./Watertown
Katherine Novak Sr. Champlin, Minn./Champlin Park
Kimberly Olurankinse So. Maple Grove, Minn./Flora (Lagos, Nigeria)
Olivia Salzwedel Fy. St. Anthony Village, Minn./St. Anthony Village
Paige Stearns So. Woodbury, Minn./East Ridge
Alexa Yeager So. Clearwater, Minn./Monticello


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here