MINNEAPOLIS – Minnesota’s Napheesa Collier has been named the WNBA Rookie of the Year, the league announced Monday.

Collier received 29 votes from a media panel, compared to 14 for Dallas guard Arike Ogunbowale, who finished second.

A 6-foot-1 forward out of UConn, Collier was the No. 6 draft pick by the Lynx. She averaged 13.1 points, 6.6 rebounds and 2.6 assists this season for Minnesota, which went 18-16 and lost in the first round of the playoffs to Seattle.

After moving from power forward for the Huskies to small forward in the WNBA, Collier filled in for another former UConn star, Maya Moore, who took a sabbatical from basketball this year.

Collier is the fourth Lynx player to win the WNBA Rookie of the Year award, following Moore (2011), Seimone Augustus (2006) and Betty Lennox (2000). She is the fifth player from UConn to receive the award, following Breanna Stewart (2016, Seattle), Moore (2011, Minnesota), Tina Charles (2010, Connecticut) and Diana Taurasi (2004, Phoenix).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here