Brett Miller, KMRS/KKOK Sports Director

Morris/Benson Area Storm boys hockey coach Jeremiah Day was named the section 6A Coach of the Year on March 9th.

The Storm improved their win total by 12 games this past winter, going 8-14 in 2018-2019 to 20-6 in 2019-2020.

After dropping their season opener, the Storm reeled off 12 straight wins as one of the highest scoring teams in the section with five goals per game. Their 2.3 goal differential was third best in the section.

In the postseason the Storm earned a 4-2 victory over Wadena/Deer Creek in the Play-In round before falling to eventual section runner-up Alexandria in the quarterfinals.

The section Assistant Coach of the Year went to River Lakes Stars assistant coach Mark Johnson.

The Storm had five players earn Honorable Mention when section awards were handed out, including seniors Jack Riley and Chase Engebretson, juniors Zach Bruns and Brady Goff, and eighth-grader Kaleb Breuer.

Bruns led the section with 39 goals on the season, finishing third in total points with 58, while Riley’s 40 points were tied for ninth.

Goalie Chase Engebretson was tied for second with a 91.7 save percentage in net, and a 2.0 goals-against-average.

All-Section First Team: 

Forwards: Blake Perbix (Cathedral), Jack Smith (Cathedral), Jack Warner (Cathedral)

Defensemen: Reid Bogenholm (Cathedral), Andrew Revering (Alexandria)

Goaltender: Dane Couture (Little Falls)

All-Section Second Team:

Forwards: Caleb Strong (Alexandria), Mack Motzko (Cathedral), Logan Stellmach (Little Falls)

Defensemen: Jon Bell (Cathedral), CJ Zins (Cathedral)

Goaltender: Drew Tangen (River Lakes)

Honorable Mentions:

Alexandria: Matthew Carlsen, Josiah Gronholz, Landyn James, Derek Pesta, Joe Westlund

Breck/Wahp: Jase Jensen, Hunter Wamre, Isaac Wohlers

Fergus Falls: Michael DeBrito, Kaden Peterson, Isaac Young, Cole Zierden

Little Falls: Ryan Buckallew, Gunnar Gustafson, Gabe Hirsch, Reece Hubbard, Joe Majerle, Nicholas Stevens

Prairie Centre: Andrew Bick, Isaiah DeFoe, Eli Fletcher, Ian Gould, Jacob Zollman

River Lakes: Colton Baumgarten, Blake Blattner, Griffin Duininck, Ethan Howard, Tanner Stanley

St Cloud Cathedral: Ethan Cumming, Cullen Hiltner, Grant Martin, Nolan Widman

Sartell: Connor Hacker, Tory Lund, Will Schiffler, Hayden Walters, Michael Webster, Ryan Zulkosky

Wadena/Deer Creek: Daunte Leiran, Wyatt Murray, Lleyten Pettit, Kade Woods


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here