As fire season expands, the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources has added the following counties to the burn restriction list:

Clay, Douglas, Grant, Norman, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin.

The state will not issue burning permits for brush or yard waste in these counties until these restrictions are lifted. A variance permit may be obtained for special agricultural, industrial, or management circumstances like a prescribed burn.

“Warm and dry conditions are key factors for wildfires, so we have to remain on alert about restricting open burning,” said Casey McCoy, DNR fire prevention supervisor. “These restrictions really do work: they’ve helped reduce wildfires by more than 30 percent over the past decade.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here