Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson runs with the ball during the second half of an NFL football game against the Indianapolis Colts Sunday, Dec. 18, 2016, in Minneapolis. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)

EAGAN – Former Minnesota Vikings, Adrian Peterson and Cordarrelle Patterson, were among those named to the 2010s NFL All-Decade Team on Monday.

On Monday, the NFL released their choices for the 2010s All-Decade Team and among those selected were two former members of the Minnesota Vikings, Adrian Peterson and Cordarrelle Patterson.

However, there is one current member of the Vikings who was surprisingly left off the team. Current Minnesota safety Harrison Smith was somehow not one of the two safeties selected for the 2010s NFL All-Decade Team. Instead, the people in charge of the selections went with Earl Thomas, Eric Berry, and Eric Weddle.

Although Smith had the fewest First-Team All-Pro seasons compared to the other three, his numbers during the last decade are very similar to (if not better than) the three safeties who ended up being picked for the team.

As for Peterson and Patterson, their selections to the All-Decade Team shouldn’t have come as too much of a surprise.

Peterson has led the NFL in rushing twice since 2010, including his 2012 season when he ran for 2,097 yards and he was named the league’s MVP. Frank Gore, Marshawn Lynch, and LeSean McCoy were the other three running backs who were named to the 2010s All-Decade Team.

Patterson, the former Vikings first-round pick is one of the best kick returners in the history of the NFL and he made this very clear from his very first season in the league.

During Patterson’s seven seasons in the NFL, he’s led the league in kick return average three times, scored seven return touchdowns, and earned three First-Team All-Pro selections.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here