The Courthouse was to be the scene of the planned demonstration.

With the general election coming up Tuesday, November 3, Stevens County announced the filing period for political offices is now open until 5 p.m. Tuesday, June 2. Filing offices will be closed Monday, May 25 for Memorial Day. Citizens can file with the Stevens County Auditor at the Stevens County Courthouse in Morris for the following county offices: County Commissioner District 1, currently held by Bob Kopitzke; County Commissioner District 3, currently held by Ron Staples; and County Commissioner District 4, currently held by Donny Wohlers.

They can also file for Soil & Water Supervisor District 1, now held by Dave Lonergan; Soil & Water Supervisor District 4, currently held by Dennis Feuchtenberger; and Soil & Water Supervisor District 5, held by Troy Goodnough.

Filing for state offices can be done with the Office of the Secretary of State or with the county auditor of the county where the candidate resides. These would include legislative officees, such as State Representative for District 12A, currently held by Jeff Backer; and State Senator for District 12, now held by Torrey Westrom. There are also some judicial offices up for election this year, including Supreme Court Associate Justice Seat 4 and four seats on the Court of Appeals.

Federal offices can be filed with the Office of the Secretary of State, such as for U.S. Representative for District 7, now held by Collin Peterson; U.S. Senator, held by Tina Smith; and President and Vice-President.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here