From left, Bob Dombeck, Minnesota Milk Director and dairy farmer, Perham; Steve Schlangen, Policy Committee and dairy farmer, Albany; U.S. Rep. Collin Peterson; Marin Bozic, Policy Committee advisor; Tom Beringer, Policy Committee, Bongard’s Creameries; and Lucas Sjostrom, executive director.

Minnesota Milk Producers Association named 7th District Congressman Collin Peterson as its 2020 Legislator of the Year. Minnesota Milk President Dave Buck said that Peterson “truly understands the implications of dairy policy better than any lawmaker that we work with.”

Peterson is in his second term as Chairman of the House Committee on Agriculture, which has jurisdiction over a wide range of agriculture and rural development issues, including the Farm Bill, renewable energy, disaster assistance, nutrition, crop insurance, conservation, rural development, international trade, futures market regulation, animal and plant health, agricultural research, bioterrorism, forestry, and others.

Minnesota Milk Policy Chair Garrett Luthens added that Peterson “understands the role that farmers play in providing a secure food supply and works to ensure his colleagues on Capitol Hill recognize this.”

Peterson received this recognition in a recent award presentation at Sand Hill Dairy in Perham, Minnesota.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here