Minnesota Lynx head coach Cheryl Reeve watches her team play during the second half of a WNBA basketball game against the New York Liberty Wednesday, June 12, 2019, in White Plains, N.Y. The Liberty won 75-69. (AP Photo/Frank Franklin II)

MINNEAPOLIS – The WNBA announced Thursday that Minnesota Lynx guard Crystal Dangerfield has been selected as the 2020 Rookie of the Year by a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. Dangerfield, named on 44 of 47 ballots, is the first second-round choice (16th overall) to ever win the award.

“I’m incredibly proud that Crystal has been named the 2020 Rookie of the Year,” said Lynx Head Coach and General Manager Cheryl Reeve. “She demonstrated a strong belief in herself from the outset of our time here in Bradenton. Crystal was a key reason for the success the Lynx experienced in 2020 as she brilliantly rose up to the many challenges of shouldering the responsibility of running an offense as a rookie in the WNBA.”

Dangerfield, the fifth Lynx player and second in a row to earn Rookie of the Year honors (Napheesa Collier 2019, Maya Moore 2011, Seimone Augustus 2006, Betty Lennox 2000).

She led the Lynx in both scoring (16.2 ppg) and assists (3.6 apg) while shooting 47% from the field and 92% from the free throw line. Dangerfield ranked third in the WNBA in FT accuracy at 92.2%.

The 5-6 guard led all WNBA rookies with eight 20+ point games, additionally she notched three 20+ point/5+ assist games, leading all WNBA rookies.

The league also announced Lynx Head Coach and General Manager Cheryl Reeve is the recipient of the 2020 WNBA Coach of the Year Award. Reeve received 25 votes from a national panel of 47 sportswriters and broadcasters. This is Reeve’s third Coach of the Year honor and the fourth time a Lynx coach has been named Coach of the Year (Suzie McConnell Serio, 2004). She ties Van Chancellor (1997-98-99) and Mike Thibault (2006-08-13) for the most in WNBA history.

Under Reeve’s tutelage, the Lynx have compiled 232 wins over the last 10 seasons, the most prolific decade run in WNBA history, and have won four WNBA Championships (2011, 2013, 2015 and 2017). Since taking over in 2010, Reeve’s 67.7% winning percentage (245–117) ranks first in league history. She is one of only two coaches to win over 60% of their regular season games (Chancellor, 65.5%) and has also recorded the most wins (40) and highest winning percentage (70.2%) in WNBA Playoff history.

The Lynx finished the regular season with a 14-8 record, earning the No. 4 seed in the WNBA Playoffs despite playing the final 15 games without center Sylvia Fowles. Six different Minnesota players scored 25 or more points in a game, the top one-year total by any team in league history.

The Lynx posted six double-digit comeback wins and had four players finish among the league’s top 15 in three-point accuracy.

Reeve’s previous WNBA Coach of the Year honors came in 2011, when Minnesota compiled a 27-7 record and proceeded to win its first championship, and 2016, when the Lynx won a franchise-record 28 games and advanced to the WNBA Finals for the fifth time in six years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here