Brett Miller, KMRS/KKOK Sports Director

The Pheasant Conference volleyball awards were announced on Thursday, and once again it’s Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley headlining the list of recipients.

Wolverines senior Jessica Moberg was named conference Most Valuable Player, while Kristi Moberg received Coach of the Year honors.

It’s the fourth straight year the Wolverines have earned each the MVP and Coach of the Year awards. Jessica Moberg follows Lora Botker (2019) and Emma Botker (2017-18) as conference MVP’s.

Moberg had a strong season in every facet of the game with 121 kills (4.1/set), 139 set assists (4.8/set), 103 digs (3.5/set) and serving at a 96 percent clip (101-105) with 18 aces.

Kristi Moberg coached the Wolverines through an uncertain season that included a quarantine period for her team and finished the year 3-0 against conference opponents, 9-0 overall. CGB hasn’t lost a conference match in four years, winning 30 straight matches.

Joining Jessica Moberg as All-Conference were teammates Reanna Ward, Lora Botker and Lily Murphy. Emma Wulf and April Schidde were honorable mentions.

The Hancock trio of Lindsey Mattson, Rylee Hanson and Carlee Hanson were All-Conference, Jenna Kannegiesser received honorable mention.

Ellissa Rinke and Brylie Schultz were All-Conference for Wheaton/Herman-Norcross, with Isabelle Schmidt, Amanda Lanter and Emily Berger named honorable mentions.

West Central Area had two All-Conference selections with Morgan Stark and Elizabeth Rustan. Hallie Foslien and Katelyn Hansen were honorable mentions for the Knights.

Kelly Erickson was All-Conference for Ortonville, honorable mentions were Kendall Gronholz and Karli Reiffenberger.

No conference champion was announced due to the limited schedule

Pheasant Conference Standings

West Central Area1-35-8


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here